Home Diocese Institute for Leadership in Ministry holds Graduation at Cathedral Basilica

Institute for Leadership in Ministry holds Graduation at Cathedral Basilica


By Liz Sullivan

The Catholic Community in the Diocese of San Jose came together on May 10 for the 18th graduation for the Institute for Leadership in Ministry (ILM) at the Cathedral Basilica of Saint Joseph. Bishop Patrick J. McGrath presided at Evening Prayer where 31 graduates from 19 parishes in the Diocese celebrated the completion of the three-year formation journey with family, friends, parish staffs, alumni and current students.

“We are very, very grateful for all of you,” said the Bishop. “We thank and congratulate the graduates. This is quite an achievement and it took a lot of work. Thank you for giving yourself to this work.” The Bishop also mentioned his gratitude for the vision and wisdom of his predecessor Bishop Pierre DuMaine, the first bishop of San Jose, who established the Institute and the important work it does in the Diocese.

The ceremony, conducted in English and Spanish, featured two student speakers, Lee Campbell and Maria Teresa Canales. They were selected by their classmates to speak on behalf of the class about their collective experiences. Anabella Estrada, Pastoral Associate at Our Lady of Refuge Parish, also an ILM graduate, gave the reflection on the Scripture reading.

Click here to read Lee Campbell’s reflection.

The graduating class presented a check to the Director of ILM, Linda Cunha-Ricchio, for the ILM scholarship fund. Their generous donation will enable scholarships to be offered to students from parishes most in need of assistance.

The Institute for Leadership in Ministry is currently accepting candidates for the upcoming academic year beginning in the fall. To learn more about the ILM and the Admissions Process, visit

Congratulations Class of 2017
Aucensio Alvarez, San Atanasio
Juan Antonio Barreiro, Sagrado Corazón de Jesus
Ernesto Bermúdez, Santa Lucía
Sister Mariann Bich Dam Le, Christ the King
Irma Yolanda Bravo Cordero, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe
Leland R. Campbell, Saint Frances Cabrini
María Teresa Canales Machuca, Catedral de San José
Patty Coronado, San Thomas Aquinas
Aubree Stela Garlit, Our Lady of Refuge
Marcy Golebiewski, Queen of Apostles
María González, Santa María Goretti
Miguel Guzmán, Saint Julie Billiart
John Huan Vu, Saint Julie Billiart
Wilma G. Jordán V., Santa Lucía
Stephanie Lomax Canfield, Sacred Heart, Saratoga
Francisco M. Lozano Jr., Most Holy Trinity
Maria de la Cruz Magallón Cervantes, Cristo Rey
Bibiana Marin, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe
Irma Yolanda Navarro Meza, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe
Phan Nguyen, Queen of Apostles
Anthony Ordona, Saint Thomas of Canterbury
Josefina Ortiz, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe
Deepa Palamuttam, Saint Francis of Assisi
Dolores Perez, Nuestra Señora del Refugio
Rufo “Jun” Prado, Saint Victor
Fernando Rafael Ramirez, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe
Gregory Ripa, Saint Julie Billiart
Edith Ruiz, Santa Julia
Stella Shyamlal, Saint Martin of Tours
Jim Solchenberger, Queen of Apostles
Kenneth D. Wright, Saint Catherine of Alexandria