Home Schools Congratulations to the Class of 2016 at Saint Francis High School

Congratulations to the Class of 2016 at Saint Francis High School


Saint Francis is immensely proud of its graduates from the Class of 2016. By all measures, this class of seniors was incredibly successful. There were:
– 334 seniors who graduated with honors;
– 173 members of the National Honor Society;
– 102 lifetime members of the California Scholarship Federation;
– 76 seniors recognized by the National Merit Foundation;
– 269 seniors who attended the Senior Retreat;
– 34,820 hours of community service completed by the senior class;
– 32 committed collegiate athletes;

Principal Patricia Tennant commended the graduates, noting that the love and support they gave each other while at Saint Francis was a testimony to their greatest accomplishment: becoming Holy Cross Men and Women.

Student Awards
Several seniors received recognition for their accomplishments during their four years. As the students with the highest grades, Anjini Karthik and Valerie Wang were named class valedictorians.

The Blessed Basil Moreau Man and Women of the Year recipients are chosen by their peers for representing the commitment, leadership and spirit of the Class of 2016. Seniors selected Giuseppe Benedetti as Man of the Year and Jade Kean as Woman of the Year.

Sonia Juarez received the Robert J. Urban Memorial Award, named after a former school administrator, it is given to a student who loves learning, who has been an active and influential school leader, and who believes in the power and responsibilities of American citizenship to make positive changes in both our school and world community.

The President’s Award recognized the two students who best reflect the spiritual, intellectual, and social aspects of the school’s mission. This year, the honors went to Brycen Buckingham and Maria Mendez.

At the Baccalaureate Mass, held the evening before graduation, Christina Kozlovsky received the Br. Eamon Schaffer, C.S.C., Service Award for her exemplary service to the school. The award is named for a former librarian and educator who was dedicated to service.